A Mom at an Alt-Rock Concert

Image

This weekend we went to the county fair and saw the alt-rock band Switchfoot in concert!  My teenaged daughters, along with their friends from church, had a great time in the mosh pit.

My husband and I hung in the back of that crowded area, but still had fun.  We’ve heard the music enough at home that we could sing along a bit, and the beat is infectious enough that you can hardly stand still!

Mess of Me is a protest against society’s obsession with the pharmaceutical industry, which has become the new way to “attain never-ending, everlasting, abundant life” according to lead Jon Foreman, the point being that God is the way to abundant, eternal life.

I’ve made a mess of me
I want to get back the rest of me
I’ve made a mess of me
I want to spend the rest of my life alive
I’ve made a mess of me
I want to reverse this tragedy
I’ve made a mess of me
I want to spend the rest of my life alive

The rest of my life alive

10936

While I was at the edge, mouthing the words and bouncing along, I thought of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid movies.  Mom Rachael Harris always seems to embarrass middle son Zachary Gordon, especially with her dancing.

539w

I know I didn’t embarrass my kids, because they couldn’t see me, although perhaps I embarrassed my husband.  Fun movies, fun concert!

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

